Kyla and Darrin (Silken Windhound)

9 years 3 weeks ago #119519 by Kyla Smay
Kyla and Darrin (Silken Windhound) was created by Kyla Smay
Darrin is a 2 year old Silken Windhound, my first ever sighthound after having Belgian Tervuren for over 25 years. Don't let his sighthound status fool you...he's very much a chow hound and into using his nose. This makes me very happy since my favorite sport is tracking and I love watching dogs use their scenting abilities!

I'm a crossover trainer who has titled dogs in conformation, obedience, rally, agility, tracking, nosework, drafting, and am currently doing therapy dog work with Darrin. Darrin has his Tracking Dog title from ASCA (since he's not eligible for AKC events), and I have had every intention to get him going in Nose Work, but somehow just haven't done so. This will be the perfect opportunity to get me going!

I have trained one dog, my current Terv, Rhys, to a NW1 title using other methods. He already had experience with ignoring food in the environment due to his tracking training, but since Darrin is such a chow hound to begin with, I wanted to see about training using other methods for him. I'm always excited to be exposed to new ideas and new ways of having fun with my dogs. Of course you'll only see Darrin here, but in order to keep training times balanced out between my dogs, Rhys will likely be doing the exercises right along with Darrin.

This is my first time taking a class at Gold level, so I'm sure there will be a learning curve with regard to editing and posting videos. Fingers crossed I'll get it figured out in a timely fashion!

Please Log in to join the conversation.

9 years 3 weeks ago #119555 by Julie Symons
Replied by Julie Symons on topic Kyla and Darrin (Silken Windhound)
Welcome to class Kyla! Looking forward to working with you and Darrin - and we'll help you through any tech issues :).

9 years 3 weeks ago - 8 years 10 months ago #120468 by Kyla Smay